RCTS Logo

Branches

Hitchin

Dates for Your Diary

Indoor meetings

Tuesday 26th February
Welwyn Garden City
'Steamy Stories from the Footplate'
A Welsh Highland Railway Experience
Stephen Jupp

1400
Tuesday 12th March
Hitchin
'Branch Annual General Meeting and Members' Presentation Evening'

1930
Tuesday 26th March
Welwyn Garden City
'1000 Eggs on a Bicycle'
Colin Boocock
Amazingly this is about railways!
1400
Tuesday 9th April
Hitchin
'On and Off the Footplate'
Aspects of a career spanning 42 years
Bill Davies

1930
Tuesday 30th April
Welwyn Garden City
'Model Railways'
Michael Watts and Bernard Gudgeon
Something for every enthusiast
1400
Tuesday 14th May
Hitchin
'A History of the Post Office Underground Railway'
The unusual goings on under ground
Chris Taft

1930
Tuesday 28th May
Welwyn Garden City
'The Somerset & Dorset Railway'
An afternoon of nostalgia
John Day

1400
Tuesday 11th June
Hitchin
'Railway Disasters'
Who knows what may turn up tonight
Matthew Hills

1930
Tuesday 25th June
Welwyn Garden City
'Immingham Loco Shed'
Somewhere we all remember
Brain Longbone

1400
Tuesday 9th July
Hitchin
'By the Midland to Cambridge'
Robin Cullup
A real historic route this one!
1930
Tuesday 30th July
Welwyn Garden City
'Swindon Works 1880-1922 The Golden Years'
The second part of Brian’s historic Swindon
Brian Arman, RCTS President

1400
Tuesday 10th September
Hitchin
'Modern Traction in the 1960s'
Expect some great photography
David Percival

1930
Tuesday 24th September
Welwyn Garden City
'Through Kirton Tunnel'
A railway journey from Sheffield to Cleethorpes
Stephen Gay

1400
Tuesday 8th October
Hitchin
'London to Velke Kapusany, a 21st Century Odyssey'
David Jackman
Who knows where this may lead us?
1930
Tuesday 29th October
Welwyn Garden City
'Along the Tracks from Home and Away'
Something for everyone today
Steve Batty

1400
Tuesday 12th November
Hitchin
'American Rail Rover'
Big country, big trains, large loads and more
John Day

1930
Tuesday 26th November
Welwyn Garden City
'The Railways of Western France'
Our annual visit to the continent with Michael
Michael Bunn

1400
Tuesday 10th December
Hitchin
'Cane Train Odyssey - The cane tramways of Queensland and Fiji'
Plus festive snacks in the interval
Patrick Keef

1930
Tuesday 17th December
Welwyn Garden City
'A 92 Squadron and Nene Valley Update'
Local news from our Chairman
Steve Lacey
Plus festive snacks in the interval
1400

Hitchin meetings are held at Tilehouse Street Bapist Church, Upper Tilehouse Street, Hitchin SG5 2EE, commencing at 19.30

Welwyn Garden City - afternoon meetings are held at Methodist Church, at the junction of Ludwick Way and Cole Green Lane, Welwyn Garden City AL7 3PN, commencing at 14.00 (doors open 13.30)

Both Society members and non-members are very welcome to attend our meetings

last updated: 30/09/18